Georgetown has a long history spanning back to 1791 when the county seat moved there from Lewes, which was criticized for being too far from western Delaware. Originally, Georgetown was laid out in a large square, but that was quickly changed to the circle we all associate with Georgetown with the historic Georgetown Circle at the center.

The Greater Georgetown Chamber of Commerce was established In July 1979 as an organization to bring together the businesses of Georgetown and its surrounding area. The Chamber is a non-profit 501C6 that allows for paid memberships consisting of small businesses, non-profits, home-based businesses and concerned citizens. We belong to the Delaware Association of Chambers of Commerce and the Delaware Small Business Chamber of Commerce in an effort to know about all things Chamber.  Our strategic partnerships with the Town of Georgetown and Southern Delaware Tourism have allowed the Chamber office to serve as a Visitor Center for the other County Chambers and businesses or a one-stop shop for visitors and residents or anyone wishing to know more about Sussex County. Having the distinction of being 16 miles from anywhere in the County made this the perfect spot to showcase Sussex County and The Town of Georgetown.

Current Board Members & Staff

Linda Price, President & Executive Director

Janie Donato - Executive Assistant

Chris Goldsmith - 1st Vice President - The Voice Radio

Scott Anthony - 2nd Vice President & Nominations Committee Chair - Money Mailer

Mary Susan Jones - Secretary - The Microtel

Paco Hernandez - Personnel Committee Chair - Premier Staffing

Veronica Nunez - Splash Laundromat

Judy Dean - Dean Team Sells

Mary Ann Smarte - M &  T Bank

Ben Kunde - Filter Network Solutions

Sarah Gilmour - Pathways to Success

Kay Young - Beebe Medical Foundation